Many have asked why we decided to adopt. Here is some background:

Ever since Katie and I got married, we’ve talked about adoption. It was something that was in our mind, something that we would do someday. We always knew it would happen, we just didn’t know when. A few weeks ago, we were at a conference at Saddleback and they brought up adoption.

We started talking to a few friends and family who had adopted, sharing with them what we felt God was calling us to do. All of them told us to read Russell Moore’s book Adopted for Life. Before reading the book, I was committed to adoption and moving forward. After reading the book, I was dead sold. It was a done deal what God had done in my heart.

A lot of thoughts run through my mind about this book and what it has confirmed and stirred within my heart. This book not only lays out the practical side of adoption, some of the logistics a family will have to figure out, the finances, the questions you will get. But it also lays out the doctrine of adoption, that all of us, as followers of Jesus are adopted into the family of God. Adoption is the gospel. It takes that idea and marries them to the mission of the church. I’m not sure how I missed the simple connection as I read theology books, thought about the doctrine of adoption and being missional.

I have been amazed about the response to what God has stirred in our hearts since we started sharing it a few weeks ago. We’ve had people be excited, ask questions (oh the questions) and we’ve had people question it. Because we are looking into Africa the question people ask is what we will do since the child will look different. Yes, we are aware. The anti-adoption people who have commented on twitter and on this blog really blow my mind (just an fyi, if that is you, your comment will not be approved). It has also been cool to hear from other couples who are considering adoption but never said anything or were able to ask questions. Can’t wait to see how this changes those families and the life of our church.

The most interesting response is from Christians that used to be my response. Why would you adopt? I had someone ask me, “But you have 3 kids, why would you adopt?” To be honest, this was my thought. Adopting for us, is not about having another child, it is about the gospel and what we are called to (James 1:27).

To be honest, the more I have read about adoption, the conditions on the other side of the world, the hopelessness and the more I have discovered God’s love for me through adoption (see the books of Ephesians and Galatians to see how God’s adoption of us plays out), my heart has been broken.

When Katie and I got back from Saddleback, I was bothered. I didn’t sleep, I was grumpy. After 4 days of this she asked me if anything was wrong or I wanted to talk about anything. I brushed it off because I didn’t want to get into it. I didn’t want to say out loud what God was doing in my heart. Finally, we sat down and I told her, “I think it is time for us to adopt.” I was a moment I will remember because it was the moment that I let out how God had broken and soften my heart. Not something I do often, but the gospel changes you. Especially, when you come face to face with it and realize you have been adopted.

I realize that most of my book reviews actually review the book and I’ve told you very little about the book. Here is why. Whether or not you are considering adopting, you need to read this book. If you are a follower of Jesus, a church leader, elder, deacon, pastor. You need to buy this book. Period. The church needs to be more a part of adopting kids nobody wants.

I remember having a conversation with a friend who is pro-choice and he said to me, “I don’t understand how Christians can say they are pro-life and want women to have the babies they don’t want if they aren’t willing to adopt them.” I realize there is a lot in that statement and can easily open up a can of worms in an argument, but the point is there.

So, that’s what is stirring in us. What God is moving in us. We’d ask that you pray for us because we have no idea what the next 12 – 18 months will be like as we fill out papers, do a home study, prepare our kids, fly to Africa, raise almost $30,000 and welcome a new child into our family. A child who may not be born yet or who maybe is, but a child that God has picked out for our family that we can love and raise, laugh and cry with.

[Source:  My World]

